Book Review: Those Pricey Thakur Girls by Anuja Chauhan

“The word ‘paradise’ evolves from the Persian pairidiza which, simply put, means ‘walled garden’.”

I had a friend who told me how much she loved Anuja Chauhan and how I had missed out by not having read any of her books. She even went to the extent of gifting me Those Pricy Thakur Girls” as a farewell gift. That was the first time I read a book by Chauhan and I’ve not stopped since. Chick lit seems to be the mantra of the day and I have read my fair share of them by our Indian authors. But most of those books have not managed to come up with something “different”. But Chauhan has managed to work her charm and keep me enthralled till the end.

The book is a simple love story with some complications. The characters are not just relatable but also quite eccentric. The story moves around Justice Thakur and his wife, who live in Delhi. They have five daughters among whom, Debjani and Eshwari, are unmarried and living with them. Debjani is on the threshold of fame as she’s been selected as a newsreader on the state television channel. Her co-anchor, Dylan Singh Shekhawat, falls for Debjani and vice versa. But what good is a love story without some complication? The author hence introduces s bit of politics, a blabbermouth aunt and few more “oh, what now?” situations into their love story. There is definitely a lot of Delhi Masala mixed into the story line.

A lot of people who have read this book tend to draw similarities to Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. And to those people, I beg you to not compare Mr Darcy to Dylan Singh Shekhawat. While both the characters have their own charisma, they are neither similar not comparable! Dylan Singh Shekhawat is “tall and sinewy and muscular”, has unruly hair and a torso made up of “muscular toffee-brown bits”. He also happens to be smart and a journalist while being an unrepentant flirt the whole time.

One thing that I loved the most about this book was that this was before the era of internet, WhatsApp, Facebook and all the things that have ruined classical romances. The book is set somewhere in the eighties brings back memories of a simpler time. The best part also that this is not the last of the Thakur girls I’ll be reading about. My next book after this was “The House That BJ Built“.

This book has packed in its pages romance, sarcasm, humour, nostalgia and maybe more. A healthy dose of emotions if you ask me. Read it, I know you’ll love it!

Leave a Reply

