Favourite Childhood Read: The Secret Seven

I lived in a colony with several small apartments almost all my life. My parents still live there and they keep telling me about all space that we had to play when I was a kid. And how all those spaces have been taken up by the sudden increase in the number of cars parked within. The told me a few days that they were remembering my childhood days and asked me about my “apartment” friends :-D!

This got me thinking about all large number of people, who at one point, were so important to me and who I would see on a daily basis are the same people who I have not heard from for the past 6-8 years! These were the people who I used to play all sorts of games with. They were the ones who introduced me to another book series written by Enid Blyton. The Secret Seven Mysteries.

The Secret Seven is a fictional group of child detectives. The Secret Seven consists of Peter, Janet, Jack, Barbara, George, Pam and Colin. Jack’s sister Susie and her best friend Binkie hate the Secret Seven and delight in playing tricks designed to humiliate them. The SS mysteries take place o n a daily basis with the kids attending school parallelly.

To no one’s surprise, me and my unreasonably large group of friends (of different age groups who also read a lot), decided to start a secret society ourselves! The only problem was we didn’t have any mysteries to solve. So we dedicated a good amount of time in devising mysterious occurrences around us and pretending to solve it. You can very well say that we came up with the primitive versions of “Murder and Mystery Parties”. Minus the wine.

We were about 15 kids playing every day in the evening and I am in touch with only a few of them now. I don’t know if any of them will remember this make believe mystery-detective game. But if they did, I wouldn’t mind spending a few evenings each week redoing the same with my friends all over again.

 

The image is taken from takealot website.

Leave a Reply

